Forum Discussion

jaredjamieson
Occasional Contributor
2 years ago
Solved

Running tests overnight using separate capabilities

Hi all,   My job is to test a mobile device application using a long list of 23 different iPhones and 3 different iOS settings.  I want to setup a sequential test plan where one phone will be run a...
    2 years ago

Hi,

This is my first time using TestComplete

TestComplete provides extremely great documentation, so I would recommend to get a habit to refer to documentation first in case of any question. It really worth detailed reading, especially for novices.

Back to your question and I hope that I got it right...

Are you using local device farm or cloud one like Bitbar/BrowserStack?

I just skimmed the relevant parts of TC documentation (sorry) and had not have to implement configuration like yours yet, so my rather theoretical opinion is like this:

For the local device farm you might indeed expect lack of resources from your laptop (I guess it will be Mac one). For the cloud-based farm, most probably you will have a restriction with the number of licensed parallel test executions.

Considering the above, my current idea is to consider some helper test configuration file and some helper driver code.

Configuration file might be like this:
    {

devices : {

1 : "iPhone 6",

2 : "iPhone 7",

},

iOSconfigs : {

1 : {config1},

2 : {config2},

}

}

And the driver code will iterate them like

for (each device in devices) {

for (each iOSconfig in iOSconfigs) {

<driver code>

}

}

And the <driver code> will craft required set of capabilities and start test execution via Parallels object provided by TC. To control the number of parallel executions you may either implement some logic inside <driver code> or try to use the Parallel Test Count option in TestComplete.

Another option that may be considered is the use of some CI/CD server.