Forum Discussion

Astrid
Occasional Contributor
2 years ago
Solved

Test keeps failing with Text "..." was not found

I am new to TestComplete and I have just recorded my first test. I have done multiple recordings of the same scenario and every time I run it the test fails with "The text 'xxx' was not found." The text itself is different every time. The last time it was "ESO" and I am not aware of this particular string in my application. Another time the playback placed two text strings in the same field, which resulted in the second field being empty. Another time the test just did not find the text string on the right click menu. - Does anyone have any advice for how to fix this? - TiA - Astrid

• Ideally, all development should be done on your local machine. You can then deploy to another machine, to test that it works.

If you had a very slow connection and you were to remote desktop to another machine. You will be able to see the remote desktop updating, as it constantly redraws images (streams) of the whole window. Hence, the reason automation tools can't actually see any of the UI objects.

FYI, you can mark the post as Solved

15 Replies

rraghvani
    Champion Level 3

Looking at your screenshots, and your previous response. Are you trying to automate your application that's running on a VM, using your local machine? If yes, then like majority of all automation tools, this is not supported and will cause issues. However, you can playback the automation on a VM.

Marsha_R
      Champion Level 3

If what rraghvani says is the case, then you'll need to install TestComplete on the vm and run the whole test there. 

Astrid
      Occasional Contributor

Thank You! - Yes, that is my configuration. I have now installed the application on my laptop and will record there. Then I will try to playback on a VM. I will share how that goes. - Thank You again!

rraghvani
    Champion Level 3