Forum Discussion

blearyeye
Contributor
14 years ago

Getting children of a .NET form control

I'm using TestComplete 8 on a winform program written in C# 4.0. I'm a newbie to TestComplete and find the learning curve pretty steep.

On
a form F I need to collect all instances of control C so that I can
check their properties. I need to do this repeatedly in the test cycle,
so the code to do it should be a JavaScript function. It needs to be
integrated with a keyword test. I'm told that a template can help, but
not sure how.

What I need is a sample of the JavaScript code and
something of a step-by-step instruction for integrating it into a
keyword test.

6 Replies

• Hmmm ... long time, no comment. Is this normal?

Nick Olivos of SmartBear support provided me with the following sample code.

function findBoxes()

{

var dash = Aliases.MyPgm.Dashboard; // Dashboard is a winform

statusBoxes = dash.FindAllChildren("ClrFullClassName","MyPgm.StatusBox",1) // StatusBox is a control that inherits from Label

statusBoxes = (new VBArray(statusBoxes)).toArray();

for (i = 0;i<statusBoxes.length;i++)

{

Log.Message(statusBoxes.InstanceNumber); // InstanceNumber is a property of StatusBox

}

}
  • Well, that's refreshingly honest.

Of course, it does bring up the question of why there should be a forum at all. I certainly won't post any more questions to the forum since it seems to be a dead end.

Other companies, I might add, take a different approach to this kind of forum, using it as a primary way of helping customers solve problems. That lets everyone benefit from the solutions. It also reduces support costs, since I won't ask a question if I find the answer on the forum.
    AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3
    Hi Bill,

Just a personal opinion and see my signature for disclaimer details.