Forum Discussion

GMaguire
New Contributor
14 years ago

Combo Boxes Overlapping Combox Boxes/Text Boxes

Hi

I am very new to TestComplete and i am currenlty creating tests for a form application developed in Delphi. Basically i am getting the following error during the playback of my tests:

The window is invisible and thus cannot be activated.

I think that this error is ocurring beacuse when i am using the click action to select values from combo boxes that are overlapping other combo boxes or textbox controls the current control cannot be activated. However if i run another test using the tab control to select the combo box and use the arrow keys on the keyboard to select the value the same test runs correctly.

I would like a bit of advice on how to reslove this issue, i have read a bit on overlapping events but i am not really sure how to implement this as to get the click selection of values in overlapping combo boxes.

Any help appreciated.

8 Replies

GMaguire
    New Contributor
    Can anybody provide any advice on this problem as i am now encountering on more and more of my tests.

• Hi Gerald,

Please let me know exactly what version of TestComplete you have. If it is not the latest version, which is 7.52, please install it and check whether the problem occurs with it.

If the issue occurs with the latest version of the tool, please let me know exactly which combo boxes are used in your application. Tell me their name, vendor, and version so we can try to find a sample application and reproduce the issue here.
    shail2812
    Occasional Contributor
    Hi,

I faced exactly similar issue with combobox (DevExpress controls). i somehow managed to by pass it using the keypress event. but if you come to know of a solution, I would appriciate if you could let me know. I will also share it once i kow it.

Thanks,

Shailendra

• Hi Shailendra,