Forum Discussion

fred_temento
Occasional Contributor
8 years ago
Solved

Do not see fake memory leak in a DLL

Hello,

I am new to AQtime.

In order to understand how AQtime show memory leak (that i can understand) I decide to create a fake memory leak in a DLL of my exe : just a malloc(10) without free in a ctor of a call being instanciated ton of time.

When I quit my application... a ton of memory leak appears (not my code!) but not mine !

Furthermore, I did not find tuto or sample for pure C++ (not managed) memory profiling.

So I peak information on some tuto talking about delphi or C++ .net...

I did try with AQtime standalone and integrated in Visual Studio 2013.

can you help on why my fake memory leak is not find ?

• Hi Alex,

Thanks for all your comments.

I did follow the recommandation for building native  c++ projects : I had to change my 52 projects of my application since an option was disabled and AQtime needs it (Function Level Linking). This was a great think since it generates a lot of link errors that were real errors (indeed I don't undestand how the code was working before !). I must say that my application was last converted from VC6 to VS2013 ! So the project file settings were automatically translated from VC6 to VS2013 (+ some manual action)... and those both compilers are REALLY different ! So switch FLL ON was a good thing !

I also set all my project to use /Zi (since all my project can not use /ZI because of /SEshc settings)

I verified and setup the directory to use PDB files (indeed it was good, only vc120.pdb was missing)

I studied your screen shot (that was helpfull regarding the small button !) 

I verified the "Project Search Drectories" for source picking.

and I can see the same results as yours.

I don't understand why it is mandatory to create a "class level area" since, by definition, we don't know where are memory leaks ! but I created it and put the DLL into which I create a memory leak (malloc without free).