Forum Discussion

richpit
New Contributor
14 years ago

Not recording the last character of an entered value (keyword test)

I did a quick search and didn't find anything about this.  Sorry if it already exists...

I'm new to evaluating the product, so I'm recording simple tasks like logging in, entering forms, etc. 

I'm finding that every time I end recording a Keyword Test, the very last character of an input string is missing.  I.E.  if I enter "secret01" as a password, it will record "secret0". Of course, when I try to run the test, it fails.

Any idea why it's doing this and what I can do to fix it?

Thanks.

10 Replies

• Hi Richard,

Are you testing a web application? If so, please tell me what browser you are using. There is a known issue in the IE 7 and IE 8 browsers related to skipping characters. The problem can be resolved by using the value or Text property of the controls you need to enter data in instead of using the Keys method. Please see the Simulating Keystrokes in Browsers help topic for information.

Is it the case?
    richpit
    New Contributor
    Yes, that is the case.

It's a web app, IE 8 on Windows 7.  I'll check the URL you referenced.

Thanks for the response!

EDIT:  I read the attached URL article.  I'm not sure it helps.  I've attached an image of the item in question.  In the "Value" column, I recorded "sherri", it only kept "sherr" and I had to manually add the "i" to make it work.

No where am I seeing the "Keys" method mentioned in the article.  It seems to be a "Set Text" operation. 

Please keep in mind, I don't know what I'm talking about because I'm totally new to this tool!

Thanks,

Richard
    hendrik_schreib
    Occasional Contributor
    Hi,

i have the same problem with Test Complete 8.10 and IE 8.

Steps to reproduce:

- Recording a simple website login with username "user" and passwort "password"

- The keyword tests contains only "use" and "passwor"

How can i fix this?

Thanks
  • Hi Hendrik,