Forum Discussion

bjaii
Occasional Contributor
8 years ago

Java List area error, can't find any data in cell

Hi all,

I'm new to TestComplete, I have been using TestComplete to write tests for a certain Desktop Java application. Most controls can be "seen". but there are some controls that seems to be "customized" and cannot be interacted with aside from a black box point of view. It would be great if I could interact with them using functions.

I have multiples controls that cannot be interacted with, there are trees, tables and lists. I will only discuss one at the time so it doesn't get too confusing.

I have this control (full name):

Sys.Process("java").SwingObject("PersonaldispositionRunner", "Personnel Dispatch", 0).SwingObject("JRootPane", "", 0).SwingObject("null.layeredPane").SwingObject("JPanel", "", 0).SwingObject("ComponentOrientationAwareJSplitPane", "", 0).SwingObject("JPanel", "", 0).SwingObject("GBasicPanel", "", 0).SwingObject("IvuWorkflowContainer", "", 0).SwingObject("DisponierenView", "", 0).SwingObject("JPanel", "", 0).SwingObject("GrafischeDispoEditor", "", 0).SwingObject("mainSplitPane").SwingObject("SwitchableResourceListPane", "", 0).SwingObject("resourceVOsForSelectedPlanningLevel").SwingObject("outerSplitPane").SwingObject("splitPane").SwingObject("genericTableControl").SwingObject("GIndexedCollectionControl$ListArea", "", 0)

Full class name: 

de.gebit.trend.gui.list.GIndexedCollectionControl$ListArea

I assumed this control was a List control, so I mapped his full class name in List control, and when I want to interact with cells I get:

Error: Error
An error occurred.
Possible reasons:
1. The application stopped responding.
2. The application was compiled incorrectly (see the Open Applications topic in the help system).
3. An error occurred in TestComplete/TestExecute.

Technical information:
97 0x80020006 (Unknown name.) getModel

The getModel Method does not exist in Methods tab.

I then tried to map it as table:
Error: Error