Forum Discussion

funmay
Contributor
7 years ago

Loop through the container of elements

I am new to Testcomplete with JavaScript.How can i loop through a collection/container of element?When all the elements are using the same class name/Id.I don't want run the test individually by using "contains". I want to loop through the container .

In Selenium i can do it with below code:

List<WebElement> vContainer = element.findElements(By.cssSelector("element));

if (vContainer .size() > 0) {

//Can iterate the list if you expect more than one div of type someDiv.

String myText = mightHaveSomeDiv.get(0).getText();

return element;

9 Replies

kaiiii
    Regular Contributor

We can find the element by using XPath

page.FindChildByXPath("//TagName[@PropertyName='KeyValue'][text()]")
    Make an object for the above xpath and I hope it will be work.

funmay
      Contributor

Hi All,

Thank you for the feedback.This is not working for me,when i used the FindChildByXPath,it is only return the first element,when it should return  5 elements with the below code.

var containerEle;

var ele = "//div[@class='something']/h3";
      var elepath= ObjectConverted(ele);

containerEle = page.FindChildByXPath(tablexPath).innerText;
      for(i=0; i<=containerEle.length;i++){

Log.MessagecontainerEle [i]);

}

Error seen(Wrong number of arguments or invalid property assignment 12:06:36 Normal Error) with FindAllChildren with the below code:

var containerEle;

var ele = "//div[@class='something']/h3";
      var elepath= ObjectConverted(ele);

containerEle = pageFindAllChildren(tablexPath).innerText;
      for(i=0; i<=containerEle.length;i++){

Log.MessagecontainerEle [i]);

}

Could you please provide code to make this action funtioned,this is very easy to do with Selenium.Can someone from SmartBear TestComplete help in this situation

AlexKaras
        Champion Level 3

Hi,