Forum Discussion

NT
Contributor
8 years ago

How TestComplete map objects in memory and on what logical basis the objects are mapped

I work as a software tester for almost six months, and I use TestComplete test tool.  In the first month I had completed basic training and I was able to practice in the following months on projects that allowed me to master different features of the tool and performe complete series of tests.

Despite the succes of project’s test, I have still difficulties in name mapping and "I want to understand it deeply to  master more and more the tool. My questions are:

1.  How TestComplete map objects in memory and on what logical basis the objects are mapped.

For instance i have a button named «Sauvegarder » that is  mapped  as following :

Full name(Object Browser) :

Sys.Browser("iexplore").Page("http://c2atom-acc/C2Atom/home#/ticket-form/3710").Section("content").Panel(2).Panel("MainTabs").Panel(0).Panel(0).Form(0).Panel(0).Panel(0).Panel(1).Panel(0).Panel(2).Panel(1).Button(0)

Mapped Object

NameMapping.Sys.browser.pageC2atomApplication.sectionContent.formNgDirtyNgValidNgValidRequire.panelTicketfullLoading.panel.buttonSauvegarder

Aliases :

Aliases.browser.pageC2atomApplication.sectionContent.formNgDirtyNgValidNgValidRequire.panelTicketfullLoading.panel.buttonSauvegarder

For instance, I know that :

Page("http://c2atom-acc/C2Atom/home#/ticket-form/3710") matches pageC2atomAplication  in  either  Mapped Object or Aliases

And

Section("content") matches sectionContent in either  Mapped Object or Aliases

And so one…..