Forum Discussion

lucist
Occasional Contributor
13 years ago

Unable to highlight and log a picture at the same time

Hello!

I am a beginner with TC and trying to create a VB script for highlighting an object (a button for example) from a web-page and log a picture of it (that will display the button as highlighted) at the same time.

I am running the following script but I get an error and don't know what I have made wrong :

Sub Find

Dim firefox, Result

Set firefox = Aliases.firefox.Page("http://www.google.ro/").Panel("searchform").Form("tsf").Panel(0).Panel(1).SubmitButton("btnK")

Set Result = Runner.CallObjectMethodAsync(firefox, "HighlightObject")

Log.Picture(firefox)

While Not Result.Completed

aqUtils.Delay 300

WEnd

End Sub

7 Replies

lucist
    Occasional Contributor
    Hey Robert ! Thanks for the fast reply !

I am getting a VBScript runtime error on line 7 column 3

so the issue may be with this code line :

Set Result = Runner.CallObjectMethodAsync(firefox, "HighlightObject")  

Thank you!
    ArtemS
    SmartBear Alumni (Retired)
    Hello,

The HighlightObject method is a member of the Sys object and it accepts the onscreen object to be highlighted as a parameter. Therefore, the correct code should be as follows:

Sub Find

Dim firefox, Result

Set firefox = Aliases.firefox.Page("http://www.google.ro/").Panel("searchform").Form("tsf").Panel(0).Panel(1).SubmitButton("btnK")

Set Result = Runner.CallObjectMethodAsync(Sys, "HighlightObject", firefox)

Log.Picture(firefox)

aqUtils.Delay 300

WEnd

End Sub

lucist
    Occasional Contributor
    Thanks very much for your advise Artem, that solved the issue !
  • Hello,

I am having problems with the solution to the issue of highlighting an object and taking a picture at the same time. The issue is that sometimes the picture doesn't have the red border around it. Is it because the red border flashes? Therefore if it happens to be flashed off when the picture happens, there's no border?