Forum Discussion

vlad230
Contributor
12 years ago

Skipping Test Item when the first error occurs

Hello,

I have a test suite containing multiple test items and I would like to skip the execution of a test item when the first error occurs (not continuing to run the test item because the rest of the steps in the test will be redundant) and jump to the next test item in the suite.

I've been thinking of setting an event handler that will somehow stop the current test and jump to the next one.

I discovered that I can use:

Project.TestItems.Current;

To refer to the current test item but I don't know how to stop it (without stopping the whole test suite) and how to jump to the next test item.

Can somebody help on this?

P.S. I'm using Test Complete 8 and I'm coding in Jscript.

Thanks,

Vlad

14 Replies

NikhilReddy
    Occasional Contributor
    Hello Everyone,

I am new to TestComplete. I am recording the Keyword tests instead of writing script's.

I have similar issue as described by Serglu Vlad, I have a project suit with few projects in it & each project mostly has only one Keyword Test in it. When I run the project suit , It has to run all the projects inside it in a series, if tests encounters an error it has to log the error and skip to the next test in the next project in the project suite.

The solutions describes above are either stop the whole project suit with out running the following project's tests.

I tried uncheck stop on error in project's playback properties and opted the stop on error (project) also tried (Test Item) but didn't see the expected results. i.e [After the first error occurs test should stop executing the rest of the steps and skip to next test in next project without stopping the whole project suit]