Forum Discussion

rickm
Contributor
22 days ago
Solved

Searching for the mapped object "btnYes" took a long time

I've been running TestComplete for 13 years now. I have over 1100 tests, all created with the recording function and letting TC take care of all name mapping. This is with an Open App. Nothing browser related, etc.

One thing I've never had to get much involved with is Name Mapping. In recent years, certain message boxes have become very slow. Instead of a fraction of a second, it can take 20 to 30 seconds just to click a "Yes" button. When it takes more than about 10 seconds, I get the TC warning:

"Searching for the mapped object "btnYes" took a long time. This happened because the sought-for object has the Extended Find attribute enabled, and the test engine searched for this object on all levels down the object hierarchy. To speed up the search and improve the test performance, add more parent objects of this object to the Mapped Objects tree of Name Mapping."

I tried turning off the Extended Find but then some objects couldn't be found at all.

I think I can see why the search is necessary, but don't know what to tweak in the Name Mapping to fix this.

Dialogs that process button presses immediately have FullNames and MappedNames that have the same object hierarchies. Quoting one from the "Details" panes of a log file, it looks like this:

Tested object:
Aliases.MyApp.SaveChangesForm.CommitPanel.NoButton
(Sys.Process("MyApp").VCLObject("SaveChangesForm").VCLObject("CommitPanel").VCLObject("NoButton"))

One that takes a long time looks like this:

Tested object:
Aliases.MyApp.dlgMyAppError.btnYes
(Sys.Process("MyApp").Window("#32770", "MyApp", 1).Window("Button", "&Yes", 1))