Forum Discussion

Learner_Pranavi
Occasional Contributor
8 months ago
Solved

Rerun tests after a stipulated time period.

Hi guys,

I am running a test to generate an ID. So, the generation takes 5-10 minutes. In few cases, it takes more than 10 minutes.

I have also implemented another script in python to check whether the ID has been generated or not.

So, this later script has to be run for every 5 minutes for 3 times (i.e, till 15 mins). If, the test is a success, there is no need to rerun it. 

Meanwhile, during this timeframe, I will be running other project test scripts in that project suite.

Is it possible in Testcomplete? If so, how?

Please help!

PS : I am a beginner.

• Pseudocode to achieve what you want will look something like this,

Generate ID
    Start-Timer
    While ID is not generated
    	if Start-Timer is greater than 15 minutes
    		Break
    	otherwise
    		Wait for 1 minute
    End-Timer
    Output time taken to generate ID (End-Timer - Start-Timer) minutes

9 Replies

rraghvani
    Champion Level 3

It's not possible to run two or more scripts at the same time.

MW_Didata
    Regular Contributor

you could store a project variable with how many times it's been run,

then use an if then to check if it exists, if not and variable Timesrun is not 3 continue,

if it doesn't exist and the Timesrun does equal 3 then post error/warning to logs.

Then just put that test in your exeplan 3 times at different point.

you could also add a variable and set that to true when it has been found,

then just use that to skip the later 2 testruns with another if then statement.

It would look a little like this:

Learner_Pranavi
    Occasional Contributor

Hi MW_Didata ,

I appreciate your answer. This will work if I run the other tests in the same project.

But meanwhile, I need to run another project and come back to this project after some time to check whether the ID has been generated or not.