Forum Discussion

nedbacan
Frequent Contributor
2 years ago
Solved

Trying to call the FindChild method or property of an object but it does not exist

Hello, can someone help debug the following script, I cannot figure it out why it's failing being I am new to TC.

I included the screenshot of the properties from the Spy captured,I am sure the page ID is correct according to the spy screen.

function DragCard()
{
// Find the first column element
   var column1 = Sys.Browser("chrome").Page("https://rdx-dev.rdxhub.com/workspace/patient-board").FindChild("idStr", "chk-drop-list-0", 10);

// Find the card element in the first column with the desired text content
   var cardToMove = column1.FindChild("contentText", "Test Patient455", 10);

// Find the second column element

var column2 = Sys.Browser("chrome").Page("https://rdx-dev.rdxhub.com/workspace/patient-board").FindChild("idStr", "chk-drop-list-2", 10);

// Drag the card to the second column
   cardToMove.Drag(column2);
}

• I was able to achieve the drag functionality using the following function that was shared by someone else in the community. 

function dragCalculatedDistance() {
         startObject = Aliases.pageEmailAnalyticsGettingStarted.workspace_FirstEmail_Val
         destinationObject = Aliases.pageEmailAnalyticsGettingStarted.FindElement("//li[contains(.,'My Private Folder')]")
         var startPoint, targetPoint, dragX, dragY;
    // Drag from the center of object A to the center of object B
    // destinationObject.Click()

startPoint = startObject.WindowToScreen(startObject.scrollWidth /2, startObject.scrollHeight /2);
         targetPoint = destinationObject.WindowToScreen(destinationObject.scrollWidth/2, destinationObject.scrollHeight /2);

dragX = targetPoint.X - startPoint.X+50; 
         dragY = targetPoint.Y - startPoint.Y-80;

//Note the +50 and -80 is something I used to make sure the coordinates can adjust and move to the object correctly.

startObject.Drag(-1, -1, dragX, dragY);

}