Forum Discussion

CGilbert
Contributor
5 years ago
Solved

TestComplete will not pass test after system reboot.

So I have been building tests with Test Complete for a few months and I have found that after building a test and proofing it out over 10 test runs or so it will pass without issue. But when I restart the control the next day and sometimes just later that day the test will not pass as it will not find buttons and other preprogrammed tasks. Currently, I'm having to spend time reworking all of my tests. Is the fix as simple as what I have seen here?

https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/reliable-tests-for-dynamic-objects/#_ga=2.40846242.1086129227.1578946838-319411057.1572442721

I'm going to start going through this and testing it, but I see a lot of these questions in this forum so I guess I'm not alone. 

sonya_m
    5 years ago

Hi CGilbert , we have a nice article in our documentation about this feature. Please double-check that you have set everything up as described here.

Let me know if this helps!

• I have signed up for all the trainings I could find on this topic so I will close this thread and call it another success. 

6 Replies

• we need more information. are you testing on web apps? did you configure the browsers so that it doesn't auto update along with the other preparation settings? are you using object oriented actions, or unintentionally using coordinate based actions? do you see the object name mapping change alot with frequent "object not found" errors? do the object names frequently end in random or sequential alphanumeric characters? if you do see that the name mapping changes frequently, are you using the self healing mode? which may also change name mapping in an unintended way... need screenshots of your code/keyword tests, name mapping, object under test, etc.

the video you linked is for dynamic name mapping objects. if that's your problem, it could really be as simple as  that. 

CGilbert
      Contributor