Forum Discussion

nedbacan
Frequent Contributor
2 years ago
Solved

Selecting an item from List box based on the name using

Hello, I am fairly new to Test Complete and just learning, can someone show me using my example I provided here on selecting the specific item (see screenshot) from the web List box that I show highlighted in the Element screen ? 

What is the best method to use to search and select (click) the item as the current item in the menu?  I would also like once I get the basic to search the item in the list box that I have stored in the patient variable where I would get from another screen (another script test/keyword test) so I can look for it. 

Here are two methods I found; page.NativeWebObject.Find and aqObject.CheckProperty but not sure which is best to use in this case. If you know something better and please if you can provide it with this example.

I would also like once I get the basic to search the item in the list box, I would like to reuse the patient variable where I would get from another screen (another script test/keyword test) and apply it to the search item on the list. 

Can someone show me how to apply it in JavaScript using the sample I provided? 

ELEMENT SCREEN:

SPY TOOL:

• In basic scripting, without a dynamic variable, finding and clicking the object is just:

Sys.Browser("*").Page("*").FindElement("//div[.='Refracnadim1 1_Refractionist']").Click();

And if you're using a Project.Variable, it would be something like:

Sys.Browser("*").Page("*").FindElement("//div[.='" + Project.Variable.ListItemX + "']").Click();

That being said, it looks like you are using NameMapping within TestComplete, so if it is indeed a mapped object, to click it you would just use:

Aliases.browser.pageWHATEVER.label.panelRefracnadim11Refractionist.Click();

If this object's xpath has a dynamic property variable that you pass in from another test, you'll need to insure:

1. You are using Project.Variable and not a ProjectSuite.Variable.