Forum Discussion

enriquebravo
Contributor
2 years ago
Solved

Implement Error Handling

Hi,

I am trying to implement a solution as a described on https://community.smartbear.com/t5/TestComplete-Questions/All-type-of-error-handling-in-one-unit/m-p/57651#M96232

I am using TC version 15.40. I am new to the tool and I am still trying to find my way in it. I understand that Events are an option when it comes to handling action at start/end of a test. What I am trying to do is that in the case an object is not found the test execution is not interrupted and the error is handled. From what I have read so far, seems like the only option is to control these type of situations via conditional statements.

Is there an option similar to what was used in UFT called, recovery scenarios?

I have changed my Error Handling Playback project settings to Continue running for all type of errors, but the exception handling does not kick in.

The steps that I am running are related to signing in to a Microsoft account.

There are two scenarios:

Scenario 1: A user is logging in for the first time, so credentials need to be entered.

Scenario 2: The user has previously logged in and the account is listed.

The most common scenario is that the account is listed already, however, I would like the script to handle the situation in which the account is not listed. In that case, the script should click the "Other account" option to enter user credentials.

I force the error to occur and TC reports that the expect account does not exist, however, even though the object is not visible it can still be highlighted from the namemapping. I created a script to "handle" the situation. I am also new to JavaScript so I think I am missing maybe parameters or something else to catch the error and continue the execution. For some reason my catch block is never executed.

//Error handling function

function test(){

try {

//Checks if the object exists.