Forum Discussion

dasabaja
Occasional Contributor
8 years ago

DevXpress dateedit calendar

Hi people.

I'm quite new to TestComplete, I'm still going through TestComplete's on-demand video trainings and I've hit my first snag. One of many more to come, probably.

I'm having problems testing this: 

It's a date property on our document management desktop application. It's written in .NET, using DevXpress. This in particular is DateEdit. On top of that, it's and DateEdit repository item from DevExpress. From a user standpoint it's a simple drop down where a little calendar appears and I can pick a date.

TestComplete is having problems when I run my test. It doesn't detect this pop-up calendar. It only detects a click on certain coordinates, but no calendar.

This is my test:

and my log:

I went around and tried to add that particular item to the Object mapping list. I grabbed the calendar itself. TestComplete's Object spy recognized it as VistaDateEditCalendar, but it still doesn't detect that it's actually a calendar.

If I grab the combo-box itself, I get WindowsForms10.Window.b.app.0.141b42a_r39_ad1. But event then - no calendar recognition...

This exact same calendar appears on several more places in our apps and I could really use any input you might have. 

Thanks.

3 Replies

• The two things I would suggest you look into first ....

1. Are the controls being recognised correctly if object if you object spy them? ie. They has all the relevant property data, fields and methods present? It looks like the actual calendar is working OK. (It clicks the cell based on value) The error is on the DateEdit field? I'm guessing the calendar populates the value you select into that field? I'd suspect it's that that's the problem here ...