Forum Discussion

TK6666
Contributor
2 years ago

DB Reset script-to run before tests can be executed

Hi

Please could you advise me on how I overcome this issue.

I have a PowerShell script that I need to incorporate as part of my keyword tests in order to have the DB reset before I can run my tests.

The issue I have is that I have manually recoded the steps to run this test but if i add it into my execution plan, the script has not finish running and the 1st test case starts running which then overlap's with the PowerShell script.

how do I overcome this were I need the script to complete running first before the 1st test case starts running?

also, which is the best way to set this powershell script and get it into the keyword test to function correctly. I have run through the documentation as best as can but because I am not technical I need some guidance

This is the power shell script

invoke-command -computer 10.3.0.6 -filepath "C:\SQLAUTOMATION\RevertToSnapshot.ps1"

start-process "C:\SQLAUTOMATION\SQLCompare\0 - FullProcess.bat"

4 Replies

Marsha_R
      Champion Level 3

Once the database script is added to the top of your test cases, then add a loop right after it to look for the last record in the database. If it is not there, wait some more and let the loop check again. If it is there, then fall through the loop and start the actual test cases.

sothqamb
    Occasional Contributor

I am using powershell to do something very similar. I am not sure its possible to do what you want purely within a keyword test, and if it were it would probably be just easier to do in a Script Test.

Here's a functional snippet of what I'm using based from the Documentation I could find from TestComplete. Hopefully it will be easy to understand, all you should need to do is just copy and paste this into a Script Test and change the text '<your command here>' to the command you provided above. This text is in the middle of the last block of code.