Forum Discussion

ARANA
Occasional Contributor
2 years ago
Solved

Can't click on another tab without coordinates defined

Hi all,
I'm new to TestComplete and learning the tool myself. I am automating Desktop application. To start with, my approach is to create Keyword Tests for the scenario and then convert it into script which normally contains coordinates for 'Click' actions. I don't want the dependency on the coordinates in my scripts, so sometimes when I remove them from the scripts, the automated scripts fails ( not always).

For eg in below screen, in my keyword tests I'm clicking on 'Ledger Codes' which has coordinates (661,30) but when I remove them the script fails. I've tried using object spy to spy on the Ledger Codes tab but the Testcomplete can't spy on that particular ' Ledger Codes' tab. I've attached name mapping as well for reference. Is there any way I can click on Ledger tab without depending on coordinates please? 

• What you have written, using VCLObject, that ideally should have worked.

I've noticed, that each of your tabs have numbers which you can select using ALT + number.

You should be able to do something like, Sys.Process("Finance").VCLObject("dlgGLsetup").VCLObject("pnForm").VCLObject("tnbGLSetup").Keys("~1"); to select Fund Codes tab.

Note, in my previous example, the line 

Aliases.Finance.dlgGLsetup.pnForm.tnbGLSetup.pageFundCodes.Click(); // name mapping

is based on having a name mapping for pageFundCodes.

7 Replies

rraghvani
    Champion Level 3

What you have written, using VCLObject, that ideally should have worked.

I've noticed, that each of your tabs have numbers which you can select using ALT + number.

You should be able to do something like, Sys.Process("Finance").VCLObject("dlgGLsetup").VCLObject("pnForm").VCLObject("tnbGLSetup").Keys("~1"); to select Fund Codes tab.

Note, in my previous example, the line 

Aliases.Finance.dlgGLsetup.pnForm.tnbGLSetup.pageFundCodes.Click(); // name mapping