Forum Discussion

AverageBear
New Contributor
7 years ago

12.3 upgrade = broken application tree navigation

Hi all, I am new to this forum but have been using TestComplete on a self-taught basis for several years now. We use it for testing a Laboratory Information Management system that I look after, both for release testing of new versions and mandatory validation testing of the calculation and reporting processes of the application.

The aged 32bit application in question is written in VB, and uses 3 panels with a menu bar across the top. One panel is a tree based navigation system, one is a filter, and the other largest one displays whatever it is that you want to look at. The application client connects by ODBC to a MS SQL database.

My scripts ( around 200 or so) are composed of chains of compartmentalised functions (keyword tests) so share several parts. 

Upon updating to TestComplete 12.3 the tree based navigation parts of scripts failed stating that "Treeview Node 'XYZ'  not found".

I have tried re-recording relevant keyword tests, and just updated to 12.4, without no improvement. I have tried re-mapping objects etc, extending wait times etc, all the tricks I have learned to make things work in the past.

Because the running of test complete comprises a small part of my overall role, I am struggling to make any progress with this, and I need to create a whole bunch more scripts as the scope of the application has increased significantly over the past year.

Before I harass SmartBear support, I thought I would see if anyone here had similar experiences and had some suggestions to share.

Thanks in advance.

5 Replies

tristaanogre
    Esteemed Contributor

Could you post a screenshot of the object browser for your treeview control will all available properties?

Also, a screenshot of the relevant line of code/keyword operations where you're attempting the interaction with the treeview that generates the error.

tristaanogre
      Esteemed Contributor