Forum Discussion

vthomeschoolmom
Super Contributor
10 years ago
Solved

object recognition for WinForms objects

I am doing research on functional test automation tools. I confess that I did not look at TestComplete due to some past unhappy experiences with technical support. I am now at a new position, and we are looking at tools. I am doing a tool comparison analysis.

The biggest item on my mind is object recognition. The application under test was architected many moons ago with winforms within a web browser. There are web elements on screen as well as winform.

I have download a free trial of TestComplete to do a proof of concept. It does support some of the troublesome controls that other tools we are interested in don't support. But the WinForm controls are troublesome. I am very experienced with various techniques of accessing ActiveX controls including using their native properties and methods. I have some experience with Object Mapping and MSAA properies. So I am hoping these controls are accessible with these similar techniques or others.

I use the object spy to look at a tab control. It's Name property is WinFormsObject("twTabCGTemplate"). It's class is reporting WindowsForms10.Window.8.app.0.202c666. When I record a tab click I get  .......WinFormsObject("twTabCGTemplate").Click(31, 14)

Not a fan.

When attempting to access a combo box, only the parent is found.

WinFormsObject("_ToolPanel_Toolbars_Dock_Area_Top")

I cannot get into the combo that is within the dock bar.

Can anyone point me to information on accessing winform objects please?

• Hi Lane,

You can try adding PagePopup's class name to MSAA or UI Automation to make TestComplete recognize more objects. If this doesn't help, please post here at least a screenshot of this PagePopup window.