Forum Discussion

abc123
New Contributor
9 years ago
Solved

use get as a template for post in RESTful server

Hello all,

I'm new to SOUPUI, and I'm using the free version of SOUPUI. I’m trying to write some test cases.

I spent all morning looking for this and I can't believe this has never been asked.  I'm sure I'm using the wrong nomenclature to ask this and so my search is failing.

What I want to do is:

• make a GET request

[{

"id": "123",

"name": “abc”,

"encrypted": false,

“happy”: true

}]

• Modify one or two items in the JSON response

[{

"id": "123",

"name": “ghi”,

"encrypted": true,

“happy”: true

}]

• Send the JSON response to my server as a POST – thus modifying the record (123) on the server

If someone could point me to a simple example that would be great.

I see lots of examples on how to do a property transfer and such but nothing on reusing a response.

I might have to use Groovy to do this but it seems like SOAPUI can do it already.

Thanks in advance

• Hi,

As simple as you expected? I thought you were surprised that it wasn't simpler to do in your first post! I am happy you are happy anyway! :-)

I notice you used JSONPath rather than JSON Slurper, which is fair enough, but I would say that JSON Slurper is a little neater e.g. no need to import and a little nicer syntax - would make the solution something like:

import groovy.json.JsonSlurper

def response = context.expand('${GetRecord#Response}')

slurper = new JsonSlurper().parseText(response)

slurper.name = 'abc123'

testRunner.testCase.testSteps["UpdateRecord"].setPropertyValue("Request", slurper)

(I have tested this now, whereas before I was guessing :-) )

Also instead of setting a context property, you have now decided to update the TestStep request property directly:

testRunner.testCase.testSteps["UpdateRecord"].setPropertyValue("Request", jsonString)

quite nice though!

If you're happy to please can you mark the topic as solved so that others might benefit?