Forum Discussion

mrechberger
New Contributor
3 years ago
Solved

Groovy script - Sum two values of REST response and pass the sum on to the next request

Hi!

I'm currently utilizing ReadyAPI for functional tests of our API.
I am already using "simple" property transfer / Get Data to pass on a value from one test step REST response to the next REST request like:
${TestStep1#Response#$['ABC']['Array'][0]['Price']['value']}

Now what I want to achieve is passing on the sum of two values of a response to the next request.
E.g. let's say Test Step 1 Response gives me the following data:

Now I want to pass on the sum of the prices (1.4 + 2 = 3.4) to a field of the next request.

I was told by Smartbear Support that this can be achieved using Groovy scripts but they do not offer customer support for scripts and I was referred to this Community form.

As I am totally new to Groovy Script and not sure about how to use it for my goal which isn't complex at all but again, I have never used Groovy Script before, I am asking if someone could help of an example of how this would look like?
Maybe also with an example if the values were returned in string format and I would need to parse them to Double first?

Thank you!

• Hi,

Groovy script is a subset of Java and is really, really useful to learn.  There's loads of on-line resources for using Groovy scripts.

In terms of what you want, here is the script.  Create a Groovy script step, called "Add - Groovy Script" after your web service call and paste in the below....

def valueOne = "4";  // ${TestStep1#Response#$['ABC']['Array'][0]['Price']['value']};
    def valueTwo = "8.2";  // ${TestStep1#Response#$['ABC']['Array'][1]['Price']['value']};

try {
    	def valueOneDouble = Double. parseDouble(valueOne);
    	def valueTwoDouble = Double. parseDouble(valueTwo);

def answer = valueOneDouble + valueTwoDouble;
    	log.info ("My Sum is ${valueOneDouble} + ${valueTwoDouble} = ${answer}");