Forum Discussion

krispokkuluri
Occasional Contributor
3 years ago

Design For Automated testing of a Grid template UI usnig ReadyAPI

##URGENT### Hi Guys,

My team is looking to automate our application Grid Based Application. I am very new to automation and the requirement is to build a test-suite in ReadyAPI . The Requirement is to validate the Stored Procs/ Various services that run behind to generate data and validate it against a query that gets the same data using query . As a QA i have very minimal knowledge of SQL and to be able to do something requires a humongous effort .

Question : Can someone please help suggest any framework design in mind for such validation or any other ideas for example if we could take the data from the website and validate it against the query would it make sense . Please suggest and share your expertise .

7 Replies

richie
    Community Hero

Hey krispokkuluri,

If I understand what you're asking for, this doesnt sound that complicated, however, the problem is that you're going to need good SQL to be able to pull this off.

What I mean by this is, if you need to verify the storedprocs are doing what is required, then you'll need to be able to turn those stored proc requirements into SQL - thinking about the typical stored procs I see, you'd need to at least be able to put together inner/outer joins, sub-queries and perhaps even use some SQL functions like CAST, CASE & COALESCE to match the requirement.

Initially I think I'd create the JDBC DB connection in the JDCB Connection profile 'Preferences'

In my test case I'd create a copy of the stored proc in a JDBC test step

I'd have a groovy step to write out the results to a Properties step

I'd add a Properties test step 

I'd have a JDBC test step containing the SQL I'd put together to match the requirement

I'd have a groovy step to do grab the results of the SQL, write it to the Properties step and then compare the storedproc results against the SQL step's results