Ask a Question

Default Behavior for Monitors NOT in a Recipient Group 2022

SChristian
Staff

Default Behavior for Monitors NOT in a Recipient Group 2022

Recipient Groups UXM (or Notifier Groups in AlertSite 1.0) allow you to define who will be notified when an alert for a specific device is triggered. The default behavior for any monitor that is not assigned to a group, is to notify all contacts on the recipient list according to the rules defined for each.

 

It does not matter if a specific contact is in a group or not, the behavior is dictated based on the monitor disposition, not the recipients. Once a monitor is assigned to at least one recipient group, it will only notify recipients assigned to that group. Monitors can be associated with as many groups as you like, as can recipients.

 

In the UXM console, you can configure a default group by navigating to the Alerts Tab >  Recipient Groups screen. Next to the heading of any recipient group, Click the Flag icon next to a recipient group you would like to assign as the default group. 

 

SChristian_0-1641843830429.png

 

In the AlertSite 1.0 console, you can tell which monitors are assigned to a notifier group under the Configuration tab. Any monitor that has the icon with the computer folders next to it is assigned to at least one group.

 

AlertSite 1.0.png

 

In AlertSite 1.0, you can configure a default recipient group under the notifier groups configuration menu by navigating to Notifiers > Notifier Groups screen > Then clicking the Notifier group heading. Under the notifier group edit screen in 1.0, check the option for "Default Group will be used for all unassigned site" and click "Submit" button at the top right hand corner. 

1.0 set Default Group.png

 

Under the Account Preferences tab of the settings menu (Both UXM and 1.0 console) you can also disable notification for any new monitor you create by default. You can modify the settings for each monitor individually if needed.

 

Preferences.png

 

Another popular way to work around the default behavior is to create one 'Placeholder' group and assign all monitors to it, new and old. In this way, you can be sure that the wrong people are not notified if an error is triggered. You can then assign an invalid notification contact to the Placeholder group as well, or a contact who should be notified for all errors if one exists.

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: