Forum Discussion

conehead
Occasional Contributor
7 years ago

Compare displayed screen value against select cnt(*)...

I have a count on an app screen that I'd like to edit. This should always be equal to a number of select rows in an Oracle table. I know how to Set Variable Value to what's on screen, but don't understand how I would retrieve:

select count(*) as my_count

from table

where status = 1

and location like '%BLAHBLAH%'

Do I somehow use a database checkpoint?  Is it a matter of creating another variable that will dynamically change each Test Run?

I'm new to this and would like to know what the best approach would be.

Tks.

4 Replies

tristaanogre
    Esteemed Contributor

conehead wrote:

I have a count on an app screen that I'd like to edit. This should always be equal to a number of select rows in an Oracle table. I know how to Set Variable Value to what's on screen, but don't understand how I would retrieve:

select count(*) as my_count

from table

where status = 1

and location like '%BLAHBLAH%'

Do I somehow use a database checkpoint?  Is it a matter of creating another variable that will dynamically change each Test Run?

I'm new to this and would like to know what the best approach would be.

Tks.

I wouldn't use a database checkpoint.  Instead, I'd make use of the ADO objects available in TestComplete, write a JavaScript function to execute an SQL query and return the results, call that function within your keyword test and then set the variable value to "last operation result" to capture and store the result for comparison.

Documentation on ADO is here  https://support.smartbear.com/testcomplete/docs/reference/program-objects/ado/index.html