Forum Discussion

Blur
Contributor
9 years ago

The check box was clicked, but the specified state was not set up?

Hello, I'm relatively new to the testcomplete software.  I've been running using it for about a month or so.  I learned most of what I know by experimenting or reading on forums. 

I've run into something that seems to be relatively simple but I cannot figure it out.  I am running keyword tests.  One of the testscases involves attempting to remove a default language in which an alert box appears to tell me that a default language is required.  However,  this alert box results in test complete not being able to  get the specified state of the check box.  This causes an error and I can't seem to figure my way around it.

5 Replies

Marsha_R
    Champion Level 3

Do you click ok to get the alert box to go away before going back to the check boxes?

If not, you need to do that first to get TestComplete to focus properly.

If you are, then try either putting a delay between clicking on the alert box and looking for the check box, or using Set Focus on the check box before looking for the state (or try both!).

AlexKaras
      Champion Level 3

Hi,

It is my guess that the following occurs:

-- TestComplete clicks the checkbox for the default language to clear (unselect) it;

-- Some JScript code attached to the OnStateChange/OnClick/etc. event for the checkbox on the web page detects that the check box cannot be cleared, selects it again and displays the warning message;

-- TestComplete detects that the checkbox was clicked successfully but its state did not change and posts an error to the log.