Forum Discussion

smskrishna
Occasional Contributor
14 years ago

Testcomplete support for SAP application

Hi,

I wanted know whether testcomplete can automate SAP applications.

15 Replies

• If you have the SAP client installed on your workstation, you can take advantage of the SAP GUI Scripting API. This needs to be enabled on the SAP Server. Then you can simply record your actions in the SAP Client and save as VBScript. We then ported these scripts to JScript.

We created a separate framework around the SAP GUI script API to perform the actions we needed to perform. The SAP GUI API is very robust.

Good luck.
  • Hi,

I'm considering a new job where SAP will be used.  I was wondering if the SAP support has been extended more or if anyone has more specific issues or workaround they found.  I've been using TestComplete for 10 years and really like it and would love to take it to the next position if I could.

John
      mgroen2
      Super Contributor

johnginajohnson wrote:
      Hi,

I'm considering a new job where SAP will be used.  I was wondering if the SAP support has been extended more or if anyone has more specific issues or workaround they found.  I've been using TestComplete for 10 years and really like it and would love to take it to the next position if I could.

John

Hi johnginajohnson

I am in the same position... considering a new job where SAP is used also... is there anyone who could give an update on TestComplete's updated support for SAP GUI ?

AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3
    Hi Siva,

Yes, it can.

Most probably, there will be no access to the extended properties and you might have problems with identification of drop-down lists, trees, etc. but the chances are high that some workarounds are possible with the OCR, Text Recognition, MSAA functionality of TestComplete.

The best approach is give it a try.
      krupa_luke
      Occasional Contributor

Hi Alex,