Forum Discussion

vondie
Contributor
9 years ago
Solved

Python Script Odd List Behavior

I am fairly new to writing in Python and working with TestComplete. I need help understanding some odd behavior I am seeing in one of my scripts.

A little background: Just last week, I was given a new laptop. I created my Python scripts on my old laptop and all of my files were copied to the new laptop. On the old laptop, each of my scripts ran as expected. When I try to run them on the new computer, I am seeing a different result. This script is verifying that data added in a Keyword test (Client Name) appears in a dynamic table. I am taking the text items that display ina column on a list and comparing them to the Variable that was added in the Keyword test. If they match, the test was successful because the record exists in the table. If it does not exist, the test fails. 

Code (Edited to Protect my Company's Privacy): 

def Search_Text():
  Sys.Browser("firefox").BrowserWindow(0).SetFocus()
  browser = Aliases.browser
  clientTable = browser.pageapps.tableClientlisttable

rowTotal = clientTable.GetUnderlyingObject().RowCount

rowCount = rowTotal - 1

Log.Checkpoint("The total number of rows in the Client table is: %s" % rowCount)

rowsLst = range(1, int(rowTotal))
  rowsText = []

for n in rowsLst:
    y = clientTable.GetUnderlyingObject().Cell(n,0).contentText
    rowsText.append(y) 
    Log.Checkpoint("The Client Name values in the table are: %s" % y)

Log.Checkpoint(str(rowsText))

if Project.Variables.VarArchive in rowsText:
    Log.Checkpoint("The Test was successful!")
    return
  else:
    Log.Error("The test failed. Please open a bug in JIRA.")
    return