Forum Discussion

JennyH11
Frequent Contributor
7 years ago
Solved

Persistent Object Recognition Hints where page Objects are not found

Hi

I have been using TestComplete for a couple of months now and have inherited many tests which need attention in one way or another. I need your help!

The question I have at the moment is regarding Object Recognition in web browsers.

Currently, the keywordtests use RunTestedApp to launch a Chrome browser and browse to our website URL. Mostly this works fine, however, recently we have been experiencing issues where the Object is not found when trying to perform an action in the browser etc. I remap it (by double clicking and using 'point & fix' then finding the Object on screen) but on a future run it may fail again due to having lost it's Object mapping. This doesn't happen every time but does happen fairly regularly.

Is there a way to stabilise this and give us more confidence in the tests running successfully?

I have been wondering whether the use of TestedApps is the root cause and whether we would be better off using RunBrowser instead. If this is the case, does anybody know what the process would be for incorporating this? Is it simply a case of slotting in RunBrowser into correct place in the keywordtest and the subsequent actions all string together... Or is there more to it? - please excuse my naivety.

All advice welcome. Every day is a school day, as they say! :)

Thanks,

Jenny

• The example you've given seems to be a simple problem with timing.  The page you are intending to work with is not up and available yet when you attempt to perform the next step which, based on your screenshot is a check point on the FlightLogDetails page.  The FlightLog page is what is available at the time so that's why you get the hint.