Forum Discussion

dkasirajan
Contributor
8 years ago
Solved

Is it possible to do all the testing using Keyword Script ? I am new to TestComplete

Is it possible to do all the testing using Keyword Script ? I am new to TestComplete. I am feeling very difficult with name mapping in keyword script. I am comfortable using python script and able to find object using find and Find Child method.

But in keyword if UI layout changes every time problem in name  mapping. IS there any way to do name mapping better in keyword script.

• You can also sneak a little scripting in if you need to.  Use Run Code Snippet in your keyword tests for that:

• Hi,

>  I am feeling very difficult with name mapping in keyword script.

https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/reliable-tests-for-dynamic-objects/ recording from https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/ page might appear to be useful for you.

As for pure Keyword testing: there is a reasonable chance that you will be able to have a basic control over your tested application with it. I.e.: start application, click menu options, feed data into most of controls. Most likely you will not be able to control more subtle things like accessing grid cells, intelligently wait until data appear in the control, if some window appears or not, etc. without scripting. Or, at least, without writing code snippets as already mentioned.

And, obviously, while in general it is possible, but practical reusability of keyword tests/items is pretty low.

10 Replies

AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3

Hi,

>  I am feeling very difficult with name mapping in keyword script.

https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/reliable-tests-for-dynamic-objects/ recording from https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/ page might appear to be useful for you.