Ask a Question

How to use testcomplete in Agile

Darshana
Occasional Contributor

How to use testcomplete in Agile

Hi

I am new to testcomplete.I have started to use it with functional testing for deskstop application.

But I want ot use it in Agile project.

Also I want o use it to generate test script before develoment started. I am not sure How I can access the object before develepoment of the project?

your help will be appreciated.

Thanks

Darshana

17 REPLIES 17
vajindarladdad
Frequent Contributor

Hi Darshana,

Copied from http://www.softwaretestinghelp.com/10-tips-you-should-read-before-automating-your-testing-work/  Man Wink

Automate your testing work when your GUI is almost frozen but you have lot of frequently functional changes.

Writting automation test when the UI is not stable is not a good idea. You will be totally unaware of the control properties which you can use in automation script.

We have faced a similar situtation . We use keep lag of 1 sprint to complete our automation work.

Ex : 

Sprint 1 :

Dev creates new UI part & new functionality

Tester prepares test scenarios to be automated

Sprint 2:

Dev works on new task

Tester automates what has been developed my dev in previous sprint.

I hope this has been of some help.

Darshana
Occasional Contributor

Thanks  Vajinderladdad,

I would like to know that ,how actually the automation has applied on agile projects?

Is the same regreassion,load and performace scripts are used?

or actually scripts for unit test(developed by programmer) is used for automation of the functional testing in testing?

whol develop the automation scripts for agile projects?devloper or tester?

Thanks for your guidance.

Regards

Darshana

Hi Darshana,

We were creating the regression test and adding it to our regression suit

In addition to that we were creating API tests for the same which does not require any UI.

Coming back to your questions:

Q) How actually the automation has applied on agile projects?