Forum Discussion

royd
Regular Contributor
8 years ago
Solved

How to simulate signature on html canvas

Hi all,

I’m using TestComplete version 12 and Jscript. Is possible to make a mark on a HTML canvas (IE11)?  I am attempting to simulate signature using mouse. I should point out, I’m new to scripting.

I would really appreciate if someone can show me how.

Regards,

Dave

• I think you should be able to just use a "drag" call.  So, if your canvas is called canvasSignature, to draw a mark on the canvas, just do

canvasSignature(-1, -1, 100, 100)

This will click in the center of the object and drag the mouse 100 pixels down and 100 pixels right.  That should draw a line.

Now, if you want to ACTUALLY do a signature... yeah, that could get trickey as you would need to combine a lot of different drag calls.  But if you just want to make a mark, "Drag" should do what you want.

4 Replies

tristaanogre
    Esteemed Contributor

I think you should be able to just use a "drag" call.  So, if your canvas is called canvasSignature, to draw a mark on the canvas, just do

canvasSignature(-1, -1, 100, 100)

This will click in the center of the object and drag the mouse 100 pixels down and 100 pixels right.  That should draw a line.

Now, if you want to ACTUALLY do a signature... yeah, that could get trickey as you would need to combine a lot of different drag calls.  But if you just want to make a mark, "Drag" should do what you want.

royd
      Regular Contributor

Thanks Robert!

It works! You are a lifesaver! I can't think you enough.

To make it work, I had to use drag method before the coordinates as follows -

canvasSig.Drag(-1, -1, 100, 100);

I am more than happy with a strait line! This serves the purpose for what it supposed to. Thank you!

Dave

AlexKaras
        Champion Level 3

Hi Dave,

Good to know that the problem is solved. The suggested approach with Drag is simple and reliable.