Forum Discussion

jcatayong
Contributor
7 years ago

How many variables can be add on the Project temporary and persistent variables?

I'm a newbie on TestComplete and I'm trying to create a some how Page Object Model using the tool. I used the Project Temporary vairables and Persistent variables to store element's/UI object's property, property value and xpath. My question is
What is the maximum number of variable that can be store on the Persistent variables and Temporary variables? Just to make sure I'm not doing something that will end up to rework. Or is there any way to store Objects with their properties in the tool?

Thanks in advance!!!

7 Replies

AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3

Hi,

From the technical point of view, there is no limitation on the number of (temporary) project variables. (Well, at least no one reported such problem here yet.)

However, XPath and Page Object are far not the best practices in TestComplete's world.

It is much better to use .FindXXX() and .WaitXXX() methods provided by TestComplete (.FindChild(), WaitWindow(), .WaitButton(), etc.) instead of XPath.

TestComplete provides you with Objects Tree that is effective replacement of the Page Object model. And exceeds it if NameMapping and Aliases are used. https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/reliable-tests-for-dynamic-objects/ is a recommended video to get a good understanding of NameMapping and the whole https://support.smartbear.com/screencasts/testcomplete/ page is worth to be bookmarked as well.

One more note: Unlike Selenium, Appium, ..., TestComplete provides fantastic documentation that is really worth detailed reading. At least, I would recommend to go through the description of every function that you will use in your test code to get better understanding of how it works and be aware about its specifics.