Forum Discussion

helpdesk
Occasional Contributor
4 years ago

Help with Maximize Action Function

Hi all,

I am a newbie to test complete and automated testing in general.

I am currently setting up a Project Suite for a Desktop application built using microsoft.net, the issue I am finding is within the desktop applications sometimes windows will shrink from being maximised to half screen. Because of this when I run my test project sometimes it will fail as occasionally windows will shrink to half screen. 

Please note I am not a coder therefore are using test complete in its most basic format as that is all i know.

I did speak with a developer who advised there is a maximize action function which should make the window maximize before moving on to the next test case. 

My issue is I dont know how to take this information and put it in place in my testcases, does anyone have any steps for me as i checked https://support.smartbear.com/testcomplete/docs/reference/test-objects/members/window-and-process/maximize-action-window-object.html but it is a bit too technical for me and i worry i may have to code this somewhere but I am unsure where. 

If anyone could assist that would be fantastic, I am sure I have forgotten some information so please let me know if you need more info.

Thanks 

11 Replies

BenoitB
    Community Hero

Do you script, record or do keyword test ?

The action is quite easy

var myApp = Sys.Process("your application name").Window("name of the main window", "*", 1);
    myApp.Activate();  // To be sure the Windows has the focus and accept control action
    myApp.Maximize();

helpdesk
      Occasional Contributor

Hi,

Thanks so much for the speedy response. I record, does that make a difference?

Because I record where would i enter this information?

Thanks 

BenoitB
        Community Hero

If you record its simple.

Record the launch of your app, including the click on Maximize button on window top right border.