Forum Discussion

RegasQA
New Contributor
5 years ago
Solved

CSS selector into namemapping

Hello,

I have not been busy with Testcomplete for a long time and I mainly use Keyword tests because I am not a developer. I cannot write code. Now the developers have made an adjustment so that all my tests suddenly fail. This is because I did not set up my namemapping sufficiently uniquely. My colleagues mainly use the CSS selector to give elements a unique ID. They also want me to use it. To what extent is it possible to include the CSS selector in my name mapping? And if that is not possible, what should the developers do so that I can make elements unique enough?

• Hi,

I am not sure that CSS selector can be used for Namemepping. (Though you can use the value of the 'class' property as one of the identification criterion for Namemapping.)

The best thing that your developers can do to improve testability of their application is to introduce stable and unique IDs for every UI element that automated test needs to interact with.

5 Replies

AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3

Hi,

I am not sure that CSS selector can be used for Namemepping. (Though you can use the value of the 'class' property as one of the identification criterion for Namemapping.)

The best thing that your developers can do to improve testability of their application is to introduce stable and unique IDs for every UI element that automated test needs to interact with.

sonya_m
      SmartBear Alumni (Retired)

Thanks Alex! 

RegasQA does this approach work for you? Please let us know :smileyhappy:

Tris
    Contributor

Marked solution is incorrect.

This is a recent feature added in TestComplete v14.50 as I was investigating the use of this. There is a full guide on this which can be found on the support site below.

https://support.smartbear.com/testcomplete/docs/testing-with/object-identification/name-mapping/xpath-expressions-and-css-selectors.html