Forum Discussion

rmnrdi
Contributor
7 years ago

Advice for a new tester

Hello everyone, my name's Robert.

I have been asked to create a QA/Testing system for our desktop software. 

I'm relatively new to software development in general (about 1 year) and I was wondering if you guys have any advice, resources, suggestions, etc. for someone in my position?

I do have a direct questions though:

What system do you have in place for people to submit test cases? Zephyr? Other?

Currently we have no system and I'm struggling because people are simply asking for tests verbally and that's not working for me...or them. By the way we are Agile and use Jira.

Thanks for any help you can give.

4 Replies

• I think everyone is aware that you may not know the system as well. They also probably know the coverage that their application is given and know deeply themselves that it is not well formulated and documented. They may just be using you to get the QA 'formalities' out of the way.

Obviously this isn't the way to go. For your career and integrity as a QA.

So what I would do is first is pound them with questions so you can understand the system. Be straightforward. For example "I'm flying blind testing this new feature. When you have a sec can you please walk me through ___" 

Second, *everyone* knows a new resource is an initial time investment. Kindly remind them if they want to pretend otherwise. Be straightforward. "I want to contribute some value to testing this application but I'd need some time learning the application." Just be upfront and state the truth - which is you can better contribute if you know more so they need to suck it up and teach you everything first. Just don't say anything cheesy like 'help me help you' or anything not really sincere haha...