Forum Discussion

shafay
Occasional Contributor
6 years ago
Solved

The window size is (0, 0)

I am new to the testcomplete environment and having some basic issues which I cant find on the internet or on the smartbear website. If Can you please help me with some of my queries it will be gre...
    RUDOLF_BOTHMA
    6 years ago

Hi there.

I also work with DevX and have found that there are some major differences you need to work around.  Here's some things I have found so far.  A combobox is actually a panel->table->cells->textbox in.  Depending on how many buttons you have in your combobox, you may have more cells, but generally the second cell(0,1) has a textbox in with cell(0,2) being the down arrow.  I have a script for each DevX control type e.g. ASPxCombobox, ASPxGrid etc with methods that take the mapped object as parameter along with say the text you want to type.  These can then be dragged straight into a KWT.   I map the Table from Object browser and use WaitXXX and FindAllChildren methods with objecttype = textbox to get the textbox. This sorts the vast majority of cases.  Your additional info seems to indicate you are clicking the outer panel rather than the textbox inside the table. You have to type stuff into this textbox.  Also, use Keys() rather than SetText().  DevX does it's work on KeyUp, so SetText won't get the dropdown to show, update the combobox values etc.  My script looks like so (copy paste and edit on the go, so may have some syntax errors):

var waitObject = comboBoxObj.WaitCell(0,1,5000)  //Check that the combo box is ready

if(!waitObject.Exists)
    		{
    			Log.Error("ASPxComboBox is not ready","",pmNormal,"",GetPagePicture());
    			return;
    		}

//now find the cell with the textbox in
    var cellprops = ["ObjectType","RowIndex","Visible"] //exclude ones that aren't visible.  Comboboxes have a cell(0,0) with nothing in
    		var cellvalues = ["Cell",0,true];