Forum Discussion

Premier2k
Occasional Contributor
9 years ago

View a PDF in SOAPUI?

Hi all,

I'm quite new to SOAPUI and I've created a test that calls a service to return a receipt. The receipt is returned as a PDF. As far as I can tell we can't display that PDF in SOAPUI?

Currently I get back a lot of what seems to be encoded data. Is there a way for me to actually view the PDF or is this not possible? Below is a snapshot of the data I'm currently getting returned.

I'm currently using the free version of SOAP and not the Pro version.

Thanks,

Premier2k

HTTP/1.1 200 OK
Cache-Control: no-cache
Pragma: no-cache
Content-Length: 153285
Content-Type: application/pdf
Expires: -1
Server: Microsoft-IIS/8.5
ActivityId: a82ffe15-6405-4b2f-94a5-ad933c7deb22
X-AspNet-Version: 4.0.30319
X-Powered-By: ASP.NET
Date: Mon, 13 Jul 2015 10:16:30 GMT

%PDF-1.6
%€€€€
1 0 obj
<<
/Title <5061796D656E742052656365697074203F2054656D706C6174652049443A204430
303330>
/Author <497265737320536F6C7574696F6E73>
/Keywords <>

8 Replies

• Is this the entire response?

I've seen cases where a PDF has been encoded in Base64 format (which will look like a bunch of letters and numbers). If that's the case, then that can be decoded in SoapUI Using the following groovy script:

def groovyUtils = new com.eviware.soapui.support.GroovyUtils( context );

import org.apache.commons.codec.binary.Base64;
    Base64 coder = new Base64();
    def timeInMilis = System.currentTimeMillis()
    def filename = context.expand( '/invoice' + timeInMilis +'.pdf')
    def encodedString = context.expand( '${#TestCase#base64Text}' );
    def decoded = encodedString.decodeBase64();
    def f = new File(groovyUtils.projectPath + filename);
    f.delete();
    f << decoded

log.info(groovyUtils.projectPath + filename);

Assuming you have a test case property called base64Text (where you've extracted and stored the encoded data) this code will decode the rest for you, and save it as a PDF file.

rupert_anderson