Forum Discussion

lucieneven
Contributor
13 years ago

how to record the script from the cursor

Hello,

I'm a novice to TestComplete. Here i have a generic question, how to record the test script from the cursor.

For some reason, quite often i see the "object not found" error. In QTP,
it's easy to handle, user can either add the test from the cursor
(breakpoint) or add object to repository. However, i tried TestComplete,
as can be seen from screenshot, TestComplete will always create another
new sub test.

sub test is useful for some case, but here, what i want to do is only
add some lines from the cursor, instead of redefine all the variable
from the scratch.

I checked the project properties, and didn't find any configuration.

So could anyone shed some light here? I do appreciate that!

Lucien

3 Replies

tristaanogre
    Esteemed Contributor
    This is a configuration option in TestComplete.

Go to Tools | Options | Engines | Recording.  There is an option to "Always start a new test" (see screenshot).  Turn that off

Now, if you have your cursor inside a routine and hit "Record", it will record and insert at your cursor.  If you have your cursor outside a routine, it will create a new routine and put your recording in there.
  • Hello Robert,

It works. Thanks for your quick help. One more question here, as can be seen from enclosed pic 2011-11-29 3-42-47 PM.png, if i wanted to continue to record based on existed explorer, what i can do.

During my test based on IE explorer, as can be seen from 2011-11-29 3-15-05 PM.png, before the jump, i already set the Page URL.

Now my problem is, i can record a new test from the curson, but it will invoke another explorer from the scratch. Indeed, i wanted to go ahead from the breakpoint.

Please advise here, thank you so much!!

Lucien

• Hi Lucien,