Forum Discussion

npathak
Occasional Contributor
13 years ago

Encountered java.awt.IllegalComponentStateException in TestComplete...

Hi,

I am new to TC.

I encountered an error in TC, the error exception is " java.awt.IllegalComponentStateException".

Please find the image for more details.

Left view in "New.png" image is the image of my application, which is a desktop based application developed in "java".

Right side view is the image of object browser for child of "GALAXIES" tree view.

Let me explain my application:

As attached image suggests, we could have muliplte galaxies( currently it has only one, which is "Galaxy1") , 

Each Galaxy should have "My Family" , "My Family Data" & "My Friends" .

Its a tree structure . "My Family Data" exist inside "MY family" . "My family" &  "My Friends"   are at the same level of tree.

"My Family Data" & "My Friends" may contain any number of "folder" type objects.

So, the problem is, I am not able to find my "My Galaxy1" object in "Galaxies" tree view.

I am able to find "Galaxies" Panel as object using "object Spy" or "Object Browser" But all other objects are NOT accessible ( neither thru object spy nor thru object browser ). Hence, I can't click on them.

When you refer the "New2" image, you can find that object property "visible" & "visible on screen" is false.

NOTE: When I use the "Record Script" functionality in TC, am able to click on all tree view objects & Playback works fine.

BUT, I want to click on that object & that too using script, NOT thru record & playback functionality.

Please let me know if am missing something.

Thanks,

Naval

3 Replies

Julia_K
    SmartBear Alumni (Retired)

Hello Naval,

The Object Browser and Object Spy do not display child items of tree view controls in Java applications. That is why you cannot find the "My Galaxy1" item of the "Galaxies" tree view in the Object Browser.