Forum Discussion

rajeshbachani
Occasional Contributor
14 years ago

Using entire SOAP response directly into a new SOAP request

Hi folks!

Am a newbie here, so please bear if the question is not new and has been asked and solved before.

A simple scenario in which we receive a SOAP response - and would like to use the exactly same SOAP message as a request for another webservice, with some changes in certain fields. Is this achievable with SOAP UI and groovy scripts together?

Currently, we have predefined SOAP requests for all the test cases, and are modifying the necessary fields from the response received prior to sending this request, using groovy scripts.

Any help in this matter would be appreciable!

Thanks,
Rajesh.

6 Replies

• Hi welcome to the forum!

Sorry but I don't understand. After reading your scenario I thought I understood, but then you say you are currently modifying fields using groovy scripts. Isn't that exactly what your question was asking?
    rajeshbachani
    Occasional Contributor
    Hello Unhandled!
    Thanks for your reply.

I am sorry for not being very clear in the first post. But I will try to clarify the question here..

So, we have an XML element which contains child elements. Say it is of the form: <device><id1>1</id1><id2>1</id2><id3>1</id3></device>

And this is received as part of a SOAP Response A.

We want to create a SOAP Request B, in which this XML element <device> needs to be directly used with the child nodes.

Now two things can be done:

1. A property transfer directly from Response A to Request B. This works fine.

2. Saving the <device> into a Project property and retrieving that to fill up the <device> in Request B. This does not work. What is the problem in this? The problem is that when the transfer is done - the <device> element is filled with the value of the Project property - but also prepended with <CDATA> tags. Making the entire Request B to fail since it's not a valid tag.