Forum Discussion

ChrisA
Contributor
7 years ago

General Question : Why do so many SoapUI users appear to use Groovy scripts to run tests?

Hi,

Apologies, this is just a general question and not an issue.  I've been using SoapUI for about five years now.  In the main, I have used it for testing a set of SOAP Services and a RESTful API.  I have many test suites and test cases for their own purposes and I run these from the SoapUI GUI.  On occasion, I have run suites from the command line, so I can see the use of that.

I use Groovy scripts to help fill the gaps between test steps when I find I cannot use one of the pre-existing test step types.  I've also used them for complex checking or calling an external Groovy class.

What I'm not clear about is why I see so many posts on here and on sites like Stack Overflow where people are using Groovy script to run tests.  In the examples, they select a suite and test.  They run steps, they run assertions on the responses.  At this point, you're probably thinking what wrong with that?  But I'm seeing these examples in a single script.   Here's one such example soap-ui-dynamic-value-from-request-content.

What benefits does building test cases in this way have over using the GUI?  I feel like after all these years, I missing something fundamental, but I really don't know what.  I've always managed to be able to use the GUI to define my tests and run them and keep Groovy scripts there as fallback.  Or is it a case that people aren't taking the time to understand the GUI and are resorting to Groovy because that's the only option they see.

13 Replies

StevenColon
    SmartBear Alumni (Retired)

Thank you for posting to our Community Forum.

In my experience as a Support Engineer, users resort to mainly scripting for two reasons:

1. Scripting gives them greater control of their testing which is needed for their project requirements
    2. They have alot of coding experience and prefer using a series of scripts.