9 years ago

How to measure certain load time between 2 actions

Dear LoadComplete support,

I am a new beginner of LoadComplete and i would need a solution of this test:

Teststeps:

1. start testapp

2. enter some msg. on testapp1 and press "Send" button

3. wait until confirmation box is displayed

I simply need to measure the time duration between send and confirmation box popup, in Report Details/recorded Scenario there are plenty of recorded items(Request/Response), how can i easily measure this timeframe, and is it possible to put a checkpoint in there? e.g. if sendtime 3 sec. exceeds then throw a warning.

any Answer would be appreciated, thanks.

Lee

2 Replies

leeasdf9
    Frequent Contributor

i see there is a value of "think time" available for every Request, is it possible to set up a checkpoint for thinktime, e.g. if thinktime of certain requestion exceed expected time, than throw a warning.

AlexKaras
    Champion Level 3

Hi Lee,

The scenario that you described is a functional testing, but not a load testing and thus cannot be done using LoadComplete. You may consider TestComplete (http://smartbear.com/product/testcomplete/web-module/overview/) to implement it.

The essence of load testing (and this is what LoadComplete does) is to send a web request and wait for the response. These actions have no idea about clicks, message boxes and other stuff. In general, the workflow is like this:

1) User clicks on the button;

2) Some code that prepares request data to be send to the web server is executed within the browser;

3) Web request is sent to the web server <== this is where request load testing recording starts;

4) Obtained request is processed on the web server. This processing may include internal requests to the database server, requests to some third-party (web) services, etc.;

5) Some code that prepares response data to be send from the web server back to the client is executed;

6) Response is sent to the client;