Forum Discussion

tdichter
Occasional Contributor
14 years ago

How to invoke Test Execute from DOS command line providing external parameters

Hi,

My background is in C, Java, Python development. On a new project I work on, I have to build a Test Complete framework to simulate various Windows user level scenarios to be used by the QA team.

this is what I need to do (small part of the project):

1.  Write a function which gets a string representing a UNC Windows path to a remote CIFS file server – I.E \\\\1.1.1.1\\share_1 – the functions name is: view_directory_listing (p_str_unc_path) – the method returns a list of the files/folders under the above UNC path. (please see below on how its implemented – as seen, very simple…)

2.  Write a main function which is invoked externally from the DOS command line on a Test Execute client – the main will get 2 parameters, the name of the method to invoke and a string which is the UNC path to provide.

3. Both the aboe methods are written in the same Unit in the Test Complete project.

4.  On the Test Execute machine, I copied the content of the project to a location under drive C.

This is the command line I invoke on the Test Execute machine:

C:\Test_complete_proj\VSS_1\VSS_1.pjs /r /p:VSS_1 /u:vss_script_1 /rt:main view_directory_listing \\\\10.1.1.149\\dev

As seen - I provide to the routine main the 2 parameters (maybe there is a problem in this - I didnt see in the documentations on how to invoke Test Complete methods providing external params...)

When I run this command, nothing happens, I don’t get an error message as well.

Note: I know that Test Execute runs well on that client, when I type: “c:\Program Files\Automated QA\TestExecute 8\bin\TestExecute.exe” – I get a message that a Test Execute instance is already running…

Here are the two methods code:

function main (p_str_methods_name,p_str_param)

{

if(p_str_methods_name == "view_directory_listing") {

directory_list = view_directory_listing(p_str_param);