Forum Discussion

ejwoolley
New Contributor
9 years ago

Need to use response elements from one mock operation in another mock operation

Hi, hopefully my terminology is not to incorrect, I'm fairly new to SoapUI and coding in general but I've been tasked with creating a mock service to aid in our testing.

The problem I have is  I have a dispatch script that takes elements from system generated request and puts them in a mock response, this is working.  However I have a 2nd mock operation which is a second stage of the service (1st is underwriting, 2nd verfication).  The request doesn't contain much info in the 2nd, so I need to grab data from the first mock operation request and use it to evaluate the response for the 2nd mock operation.  Unfortunately I can't work out how to do this (despite googling for several hours).  What I'm looking for is an easy to understand example to use for a REST mock service.

So I need to get firstname, surname from Underwriting mock operation and use those in Verfication mock operation.

Hopefully someone can point me in the right direction or post an example.  Thanks! 

6 Replies

rupert_anderson
    Valued Contributor

Hi,

If I am understanding you correctly you have a situation like this:

Mock 

-operation 1 (recieve details from request e.g. firstname & suranme)

-operation 2 (use those same details to populate the response)

Is this right?

If so, I would normally use Groovy scripts in the mock and a lightweight means of persisting the request data from operation 1 and retrievining it and using it to populate the response in operation 1. For this I have often used an in-memory H2 DB to persist the data. This approach is actually quite easy and doesn't take much code!

If you don't like the sounds of the lightweight DB, another mock Groovy script implementation might use a HashMap stored in the mock's context variable to persist the data. Actual quite similar in terms of code.