Forum Discussion

dou
New Contributor
8 years ago
Solved

How to write a groovy script for a REST project

Hi,

I am a beginner with groovy script and Rest project.

I read some RESt and groovy script blog, and subject but, i don't know how to begin.

I know :

- how to import a REST project with SOAP UI

- to execute a request, we need to add a Resource, a method, and/or a path param, request param and/or a body.

So how to add all theses parameters correctly with groovy script ?

Is there some kind of Library ? API ?

Best Regards and thanks for your help.

DOU

• Looks I missed the conversations below.

You mentioned, "Yes. I need to know how to build and execute Rest using groovy"

You may need to spend time to understand first how things works.

If there is a ladder, there are steps, climb one by one. Can't reach from first step to top step in Single step.

For every thing there will be a learning curve.

I could not understand that If you just wanted to do it in groovy, then why you Ready API was choosen.

8 Replies

dou
      New Contributor

Is there a reason that you have to use Groovy script?

Yes. I need to know how to build/ execute a Rest Request using groovy script.

Have you seen the following tutorial?

No, i didn't see it. Thank you !

I have found this link :

http://readyapi.smartbear.com/structure/parameters/styles/start

Do you know how can i add Rest parameter QUERY, TEMPLATE, HEADER, MATRIX, PLAIN with groovy ?

Radford
        Super Contributor

Sorry, I'm not sure if I'm the right person to help as I don't have detailed knowledge of building and executing REST requests via Groovy (I tend to stick to using the built in test steps and only dropping into Groovy only when I need extra functionality).