Forum Discussion

sonya_m
SmartBear Alumni (Retired)
3 years ago

[Friday Off-Topic] Best music to listen to while writing tests/coding?

Hi fellow community members! Let's chat a bit?๐Ÿ˜Ž

Whatโ€™s your favourite music to code/write tests to? I heard that classical music is good because itโ€™s not disctracting .

I used to listen to low-fi playlists on YouTube for studying and working, because whenever I put my own playlist on, I start singing along at some point๐Ÿ˜… Now I mostly work in silence and it works best for me!

What about you?๐Ÿ™‚

P.S. Did you know you can write music in TestComplete: https://community.smartbear.com/t5/TestComplete-Questions/Happy-Holidays/m-p/132335

7 Replies

ChrisAdams
    Champion Level 3

Hi, this is different.

I've been working from home for over two years and the first thing I missed was background noise.

I've found I cannot work in silence, I need something to break the silence.  Usually, the news on TV or music.  But I cannot work with headphones on.

If I'm on my own, then I always firstly go for this CD....Michael Head and the Strands 

sonya_m

Hi ChrisAdams, thank you for you reply! I love a good music recommendation. Already put the CD on - very soothing folk rock.

Would definitely recommend it to our community too๐Ÿ˜Š

I am so used to headphones I feel like something's amiss when I am not wearing them๐Ÿ˜

TanyaYatskovska

it's interesting ChrisAdams... In opposite, after 2 years of working from home, I work only in silence now ๐Ÿ™‚ I turn on the music only when my roomba (a vacuum cleaning robot) cleans the floor and I don't want to hear it!

In this case, I listen the playlist from my gym and sport activities. I think Eye Of The Tiger from Survivor is one of the favorite songs there.

TNeuschwanger
      Champion Level 2

๐Ÿ™‚  The whole album...

A Charlie Brown Christmas

Vince Guaraldi Trio

Jazz

After the last song, I take a break from work.  ๐Ÿ™‚

sonya_m

I just gave it a listen TNeuschwanger

Pretty tunes!