Forum Discussion

AndreaCoulson
New Contributor
2 years ago

using a CSV file as data input

Hi - I'm new to Zephyr, and I'm a business analyst - no testers yet on this project - so bear with me!

We have an application (timesheet / payroll) that requires manual testing, but we have over 900 test cases, and each of these will have at least 10 tests with different data sets.

The tests will be repeated multiple times.

We want to create a csv with the data, so it can populate the test case, and record the expected result, so it can be matched at the end of the tests.  (The application produces a file of transactions at the end of the process, so we want to match the expected result with that produced). 

It will be easier to put the test data in a CSV file and import somehow into Zephyr, than to input directly into the test case.

Is this possible? 

What do we need to do and what do we need to consider?

I'm assuming we need to use TestComplete for this? or is there another way?

thanks!

2 Replies

MisterB
    Champion Level 3

Hi Andrea,

Welcome to the community!  I'll try to help with your questions.

Importing test cases into Scale is possible and is my preferred way to build test cases.  For information on how to import data into Scale, check out this help page, which also includes a sample CSV file and guidance on mandatory fields: Import Test Cases From CSV | Zephyr Scale Server/Data Center Documentation (smartbear.com)

Things to consider:

• The import function can only create new test cases and cannot update existing test cases, so you need to consider what you need up front, and if you need any custom fields, add those into your import template.